Queue My Review

April 28, 2008

Review: First You Run by Roxanne St. Claire

Filed under: Review — Tags: , — kris012 @ 10:49 am

First You Run by Roxanne St. Claire I have one thing to say about “First You Run” by Roxanne St. Claire: Wow! I like books where there is a lot of action in the plot, and this book certainly delivers all that and so much more.

Miranda Lang is an anthropology professor promoting her recent book debunking an urban myth that Mayan culture predicted the end of the world in 2012. Adrien Fletcher is a Bullet Catcher, one of a private, elite security force. He thinks Miranda may have been part of a black-market adoption scheme as a baby. But can he identify a baby 30 years later? Well, the baby had a tattoo placed somewhere on her body – so Fletch will have to get up-close and personal with Miranda in order to determine if she’s the one he’s looking for.

While Fletch thinks his assignment will be relatively simple, it becomes complicated quickly when Miranda’s safety is compromised by a splinter group who disagree with the premise of her book. While Miranda insists on continuing her book tour despite the threats, Fletch insists on coming along as her personal bodyguard.

Fletch and Miranda have a steamy connection from the beginning, with lots of flirting on each side. Neither one is looking for anything serious, which I thought was a refreshing premise. Their relationship develops naturally into something stronger than the casual fling that they both originally had in mind. I like my romance hot, but not too explicit, and this fit the bill perfectly.

I think it’s always fantastic when you can feel a personal connection to a book and I definitely had that with this one. Fletch is from Australia, and I had one of my best vacations ever in that country about a year ago. I don’t know if Ms St. Claire recently visited Australia, or knows somebody from there, but all of her slang and references to the country were dead-on! I often found myself amazed at her ability to accurately capture the Aussie speaking style, and that memories of my trip were so easily evoked just from reading a few lines of dialogue.

Technically, “First You Run” is the fourth in Roxanne St. Claire’s Bullet Catcher series. However, this is the first Bullet Catcher book that I’ve read, so I know that you don’t need to read the others first in order to understand the story. I think it’s always so much fun to start a series where I can immediately tell I’ll enjoy the books – I can’t wait to see what will happen in the next book!

 

Reviewed by Kristina

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

