Queue My Review

May 9, 2008

Review: Wild – The Pack of St. James by Noelle Mack

Wild by Noelle Mack

Have you ever read a book you wanted to be great, but it just missed it’s mark? Wild – The Pack of St. James by Noelle Mack has been that book for me. First, let me say that although I didn’t love the book, I did like it. I know that Ms. Mack needed to set up the plot line for her continuing series with Kyril’s brothers, but unfortunately for me it was at Kyril’s and Vivienne’s expense.

As soon as the novel starts, we are in what feels like the middle of Kyril’s and Vivienne’s relationship. I felt like I had started in the middle of the book, and that I had missed something important; like why they connected, and why their feelings were as strong as they were. Honestly, I felt kind of cheated when I read about them throughout the book. One moment they are thinking about consummating their relationship, the next they are in love, then they don’t see one another for a long period of time. What made them connect? What drove their attraction to one another? Why didn’t they communicate better with one another?

Please don’t get me wrong, I liked both Kyril and Vivienne. Kyril is a strong, handsome leader. He puts his pack first, and rules it with a firm but compassionate hand. He is interesting and funny, and I totally understood why the ladies and gentlemen in the novel were drawn to his self-assuredness and masculinity. Vivienne is also very notable in her own right. She has had to take care of herself in any way she can to survive. She is smart and likable, but somewhat naïve at times.

What didn’t gel for me is when Vivienne’s life is in danger because of her relationship with Kyril, he felt like he couldn’t keep her safe so he sends his cousin in his steed to take care of her. I know he wanted to protect her, but Kyril was the leader of the Pack. Isn’t he supposed to be the one everyone relies on, especially when others are weak and in danger? Shouldn’t he be doing everything in his power to keep his loved ones safe himself, instead of sending others to do his job?

Kyril and Vivienne’s relationship definitely took a back burner in this book. Please don’t get me wrong, there are some great moments between them, but they are few and far between because there is so much else going on. I felt cheated. But, on the plus side the relationship Kryil has with his brother’s and cousin was wonderful. He definitely is a well-established leader and I enjoyed the camaraderie the men had between them.

Even though I was a little disappointed, I am still looking forward to reading the next book in the series. The world of The Pack of St. James is still interesting with it’s Russian culture and the traditions of the St. James werewolves. So, Wild – The Pack of St. James was a good read. I am hoping that the next book Wanton, which features Kyril’s sexy brother Marko, will be released in July of 2008.

As with other Noelle Mack novels, if you are offended by strong language and explicit sexual situations, then this novel if not for you.

 

Reviewed by Shellie

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

