Queue My Review

May 12, 2008

Review: The Fortune Hunter by Jasmine Haynes

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , — 1shellie @ 7:33 pm
The Fortune Hunter by Jasmine Haynes

I have a confession to make. I have never read any books by Jasmine Haynes before. So, I honestly did not know what to expect when I picked up The Fortune Hunter. I was hoping that I would like the book, write my review and go on my merry way. Well, I didn’t just like this book, I LOVED it. I literally read it in one sitting. I shushed people away, I turned off the television, and begrudgingly answered the phone (if I had too) when it rang. We ordered out for dinner because I refused to cook…my mission was to finish this book! I had to find out if Connor and Faith’s relationship would crumble or stand stronger than ever. I am SO glad I was alienated from my family for a few hours while I was reading this novel because I loved the ending! It was such a satisfying read, I truly hated it to end!

Heiress Faith Castle has always had to watch out for men who use her for her money. She is an intelligent, warm, loving person, who often gets overlooked in society for not being everyone else’s idea of beautiful. Working as a teacher, she is always surrounded by children and longs for her own child and her own family. Used to being overlooked by the opposite sex, she is surprised when her best friend Trinity’s would-be boyfriend is suddenly interested in her.

Connor Kingston has a plan. Tired of always being the low man on the totem pole with his career, he knows he can do so much better. He believes that with one chance, he can prove himself to be worthy as a CEO of any company. When he meets Trinity and starts hanging out with her, she talks about her best friend Faith so much, he believes he already knows her. He is pleasantly surprised when he meets Faith up close and personal. She is sexy, funny, smart and rich with all of the right connections. She is everything he ever wanted in a woman and more. When he finds out that Faith wants a baby and a family of her own, he decides to approach her with a plan.

Although the storyline in The Fortune Hunter may not be the most original one I have ever read, here is what worked for me and why I loved this books so much. First, Connor is always honest with Faith. He does not try to mislead her. There is no “big misunderstanding” that they have to overcome. What you see is what you get, so to speak. Yes, Connor didn’t have the most honorable intentions when he propositioned Faith but their relationship grew and developed into trust, friendship, and eventually love. I liked that they worked as a team. They do come across some problems. Faith’s family, and others, are doing their best to break them apart but they COMMUNICATE and come together as a strong couple. It just doesn’t get any better than that in my opinion!

Needless to say, I have bought several more Jasmine Haynes books to read and I can’t wait to read them! I am really looking forward to her next book Show and Tell, coming out soon. I read on Jasmine’s web site that The Fortune Hunter has been nominated for a National Reader’s Choice Award. I can certainly understand why. This book was humorous, interesting and so erotic! I kept a glass of iced tea handy the entire time I read it. Whew! Jasmine also writes under Jennifer Skully or J.B. Skully. If you are offended by strong language and explicit sexual situations, this book is not for you. Otherwise, turn down the air and enjoy!

For more information on Jasmine Haynes and her other works, please check out her web site at: http://www.skullybuzz.com/jasmine.html

 

Reviewed by Shellie

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

