Queue My Review

May 20, 2008

Review: Angel of Mercy by Toni Andrews

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , — kris012 @ 2:58 pm
Angel of Mercy by Toni Andrews

Have you ever wished you had the power to control others? Just tell them what to do, and they instantly comply without hesitation? In Toni Andrews new book, Angel of Mercy, Mercy Hollings has that talent. This is an awesome power, and has such great possibilities for an incredible story. I love the paranormal genre so I thought this book would be right up my alley. However, I ended up being disappointed in the execution of the idea.

Mercy uses her power to “press” in her job as a hypnotist – primarily for mundane things like convincing her clients to stop smoking or exercise more. In both her job and her daily life she has to concentrate and be careful in her phrasing so that she doesn’t accidentally cause someone harm. In the course of her work, she has a client who is clearly being abused by her husband. Mercy starts volunteering her services at a women’s shelter, hoping to give battered women the self-esteem and strength to begin life without their abusers. She becomes particularly involved in a case where a little girl has been horribly abused.

This book is the second in the series and it seemed like I should have read the first book, Beg for Mercy, before this one. Much of the action referred to events that happened in the prior book and so I often felt “lost” and unsure of what was going on. While Mercy does have a boyfriend I wouldn’t characterize this book as a romance. The relationship is irrelevant to the plot and Mercy interacts with him much less than most of the other characters. I didn’t think there was any substance or development to their relationship, so their single steamy scene felt awkward and out-of-the-blue to me.

Despite my initial reservations, I found myself getting significantly more interested in the story towards the end of the book. Mercy starts to find out some more about herself and others out there that have her power. Is she human? Is she evil? Why is she so different? I ended up really intrigued by the questions that were raised and wished the book had spent its time and plot focused on those elements.

Toni Andrews’ Angel of Mercy wasn’t exactly my cup of tea, but it might be yours. And if the next book in the series, Cry Mercy, revolves around Mercy’s search for answers about her personal life, I’ll definitely give it a try.

 

Reviewed by Kristina

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

