Queue My Review

June 5, 2008

Review: 50 Ways to Hex Your Lover by Linda Wisdom

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , , , , , — jjmachshev @ 9:00 am
50 Ways to Hex Your Lover by Linda Wisdom

If you ‘get’ the play on words in this title, you are definitely dating yourself. I still know all the words to the song “50 Ways to Leave Your Lover” by hitmaster Paul Simon back in the 70s! So, when I saw the title “50 Ways to Hex Your Lover,” I just couldn’t resist. I was expecting a romance with a good dose of humor and that’s exactly what I got. This was my first read by Linda Wisdom, but it certainly won’t be my last.

If you’ve been reading my reviews, you know that I’m a sucker for comedic romances as long as it’s done well. Ms. Wisdom does humor very well! The cast of characters in this book includes, but is not limited to: a witch with an attitude, a very sexy vampire, a pair of fluffy yet voracious rabbit slippers, a chain-smoking ghost who haunts a sports car, a malodorous creature whose farts are toxic, a perky elf, a human and very confused cop, and a ghoul (literally) of a boss. Oh, and how can I forget a really, really, scary bad guy! I defy you to read this book and not laugh at least once! Ms. Wisdom has a great way with pacing and all these characters become so memorable, you can’t help but enjoy yourself.

Jazz, our heroine, is definitely someone I would like to party with. She’s a well-developed character with a good sense of humor and the ability to laugh at herself even when the going gets rough. She hides her soft heart behind a veritable porcupine of spines, yet she’s still likable. Quite a feat, really. Jazz and her witch friends were kicked out of witch school for an unnamed incident involving a royal. Although banished for only 100 years, it’s already been over 700 years as Jazz keeps having time added to her banishment for ‘bad’ behavior. Who knew you could be expelled from witch school? But it doesn’t seem to bother Jazz and her friends overly much; they do what they believe is right and fair and to heck with what the starchy old witches on the council think. You see why she’d be so much fun?

And our hero, Nik…oooohhhh lah lah. He used to be the vampire version of a cop. And even though witch blood is like poison for vampires, he and Jazz have had a long-standing relationship (300 years worth of long-standing!) they can’t seem to quit. Nik is very protective of Jazz, but most of the time, the way he tried to protect her was by having her arrested! Probably not one of his smoother moves, eh? Now he’s working as a P.I. and is on the trail of a supernatural serial killer and he needs Jazz’s help. Will they finally be able to get it right this time?

Other than the humor, the outstanding cast of zany characters, and the well-paced plot…why did I enjoy this book? I felt like I got to know most of the characters. I understood the motivation behind their actions and what they were trying to accomplish. I appreciated the struggle the lead characters went through trying to keep each other safe while still allowing both sides to participate in their struggle against a familiar and very evil baddie. I was able to identify with Jazz’s efforts to protect her vulnerabilities and still cheer Nik on as he tried to make amends for the past and build a future for the two of them. I simply liked both of them and even now, two days after reading it, the characters and plot are still vivid in my mind. And doesn’t that say it all? For a memorable read this summer, pick up “50 Ways to Hex Your Lover” by Linda Wisdom…and then maybe put on your old (or new) Paul Simon record and sing along!

*****GOOD NEWS!  “Hex Appeal” with Jazz and Nik is scheduled for a Nov 2008 release!

 

Reviewed by Julie

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

