Queue My Review

September 29, 2008

Review: Line of Scrimmage by Marie Force

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , , , , , , , — jjmachshev @ 4:03 pm
Line of Scrimmage by Marie Force

Can you believe it? Me, Mrs. doesn’t really read ‘sports’ romances, and I’ve read two in the last week! And enjoyed both! This is surely cause for celebration. My most recent is “Line of Scrimmage” by Marie Force. It’s about football, did you guess? It’s also about the debutante and the quarterback. But don’t hate them for that because their life hasn’t been a bed of roses.

Susannah is finally calling it quits. After ten years of marriage to football’s ‘Golden Boy’, she’s just 10 days away from divorce. She’s going to marry the man she left behind who never gave up on her (and never let her forget it either) 30 days after her divorce is final. So when her soon-to-be-ex shows up demanding she spend the remaining 10 days of their marriage with him, she’s furious. But he swears if she doesn’t, he’ll contest the divorce. What’s a girl to do?

Ryan never meant to cut it this close. He’s been against the divorce from day one. Susie is the only girl for him and he’s always been true to her. While he doesn’t know exactly what happened to kill their romance, he knows he’s not about to give up without a battle. So if he has to blackmail (he prefers bully or persuade) her into giving him this time; then so be it.

The author did a great job of personalizing these characters. I actually grew to care for this couple. They have taken several hard knocks during their marriage; ones that many marriages don’t survive. So once I read enough to get to know both of them, I wanted their relationship to continue. I wanted them to be happy, together. At first I disliked Susannah…which is interesting because I think most women readers normally take the female’s side in a ‘divorce’ situation and have to be persuaded over to the other side. But from page one, she seemed pretentious and weak…she rubbed me the wrong way. As the story progressed, I would like her, then dislike her, then like her, then dislike her. She frustrated me which made me admire Ryan even more! Ryan, on the other hand, was almost too good to be true. Poor boy makes good yet doesn’t fall victim to booze, drugs, or women. He also was willing to admit mistakes and sacrifice even his pride for his woman. Like I said, hard to believe. But I still fell a little in love with him, and isn’t that what we want in all our heroes?

“Line of Scrimmage” kept me ‘in’ the story. I didn’t get bored or want to put the book down. I wanted to know about this couple and how they would resolve their problems. I think the thing I liked best about Marie Force’s novel is the lesson that no marriage, no matter who you are or what your situation is, can survive without working at it and learning to compromise and see your partner’s point of view. Ms. Force didn’t scream this at me, she snuck it in throughout the book while I wasn’t looking. Clever, clever woman!

Until next time…

 

Reviewed by Julie

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

