Queue My Review

October 3, 2008

Review: Dark Highland Fire by Kendra Leigh Castle

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , , , , , , , , — jjmachshev @ 5:31 pm
Dark Highland Fire by Kendra Leigh Castle

Goddesses, dragons, werewolves, prophecies, magic…this series has all those things that make my heart go pitty-pat. “Dark Highland Fire” is the second book in Kendra Leigh Castle’s exciting tale of an alternate world where the balance has gone horribly wrong, and its connection to Earth. I read and loved her first book, “Call of the Highland Moon” which introduced a world just like ours where paranormal creatures run amok. Although it’s not necessary to read the first book to enjoy this story, I’m glad I did. This second book continues and expands Castle’s vision of both worlds which are exciting places I really enjoy visiting.

Rowan is a demi-goddess who is being chased by a dragon prince who wants her for his mate and isn’t taking no for an answer. She barely escaped his first raid which resulted in the death of her mother and many of her tribal ‘sisters’ and then only when her brother managed to ‘jump’ into this strange Earth world. When her brother rescues her again, this time his jump lands them in another Earth land called Scotland. Then her brother has the nerve to leave her with an Arukhin (werewolf) named Gabriel! Even if Gabriel is stunningly gorgeous and makes her body tingle, she certainly doesn’t need anybody’s help…she’s a demi-goddess for crying out loud!

Gabriel is the happy-go-lucky MacInnes. He’s always been content to drift through life with heaping servings of wine, women, and song. Since his brother is next in line to be Alpha, he doesn’t have to do anything more taxing than run his bar. Until the night a strange couple appears near the magic stone his clan guards and the male dumps his sister into Gabriel’s arms with the responsibility to keep her safe and make sure she ‘feeds’?! Next thing Gabriel knows he’s in it up to his furry ears with a woman who shoots fireballs from her fingertips and drinks blood! Who cares how sexy she is or how she makes him feel…did you not hear the blood part?

I’m enjoying the pace and plotting Castle has put into her world. Her characters are vivid and individual. Although Rowan’s whole ‘don’t need anybody’ stance irritated me at first (hello? Your brother already saved you twice.), I guess if I was a demi-goddess, I’d feel the same way. And the more I learned about Rowan’s character, the more her actions made sense. Same goes for Gabriel. Both have distinct traits and personalities which translated into the course and pace of their relationship.

I like the contemporary setting and you’ll laugh at Rowan’s first ‘job’…but it made sense considering. Castle also has a wicked pen and the tension and sexual overtones on almost every page are enough to require a fan! Her secondary characters have major roles in the story and make you hungry for a book about each one to see their fates. Thankfully, there are plenty of characters and I can only hope, plenty more books to come.

I’m enthralled by this series. Her history of the various races of both worlds and how some of them managed to cross to Earth is original and well-plotted. Each book provides more information on the customs and habits of each race. As soon as I finish one, I find myself irritated that I have to wait for the next one! Even after searching through her web site (kendraleighcastle.com) and that of her publisher, I wasn’t able to get a date for her next book. I’ll just keep checking as I intend to grab a copy as soon as it hits the bookshelves!

Until next time…

 

Reviewed by Julie

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

