Queue My Review

October 10, 2008

Review: Dark Curse by Christine Feehan

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , , , — kris012 @ 4:08 pm
Dark Curse by Christine Feehan

Full confession time:  I have always been a big fan of Christine Feehan’s Carpathian series, so when I saw there was a chance to review “Dark Curse”, I shamelessly begged for the opportunity to read it.  I even squealed when I got it in the mail.  So why, after all that, did I then let the book sit neglected almost a month?  The simple answer is that with all the stuff going on in my life (work, school, family obligations, etc.), I wanted to be able to have some dedicated time to relax and savor the book.  To make a long story short, I had some pretty high expectations before I opened the first page.  And despite those lofty expectations, this book delivered on every single one of them. The story is a great installment in the Carpathian saga, and like all the Carpathian books, features an extra-hot, extra-alpha hero with a feisty and independent heroine.  With a combination like that, sparks are going to fly!

The heroine in this book is Lara Calladine, an ice-cave scientist.  While exploring for microscopic organisms that can survive extreme temperatures she runs into Nicolas De La Cruz, a member of the Carpathian species.  Carpathians survive on blood, cannot tolerate sunlight, and are immortal.  Essentially, they are vampires.  Like all other Carpathian males, Nicholas is alpha to the extreme.  He is extremely protective and possessive of Lara, which she has a difficult time adjusting to his intense nature.  In the Carpathian society Lara is called Nicolas’ lifemate – the only woman in the world who can prevent him from turning evil.

Feehan’s Carpathian series is long-running, which means she has created an extremely detailed and well developed world by this point.  However, it’s nice to see that her originality and creativity are still in force, as this book travels further down a story arc about mages and shape shifters.  While sometimes the Carpathian books can seem repetitive, this plot development keeps the story feeling fresh.

In addition, while Nicolas keeps the Carpathian dominant male tradition alive, I also felt that his character changed and adapted more than any of her other heroes have to date.  Carpathian males are naturally possessive, but he ends up realizes that his behavior ends up causing more harm than good. He truly seemed to understand that for a relationship to work, each person needs to change and needs to make the effort.

In the end, my crazy life continued, and I didn’t have the will power to hold off reading the book until I had a more sedate week.  I snuck in my reading between work, schoolwork, housework, yard work, and just about any other type of work there is!  And I realized, that although I tend to read my books in “gulps” (all at once), there was something very energizing about reading this book short bursts.  As soon as I put it down, I was already figuring out my next opportunity to pick it up again!  Christine Feehan’s “Dark Curse” continues her tradition of gripping books, and I can’t wait for the next book to see what happens next in her fascinating world.

 

Reviewed by Kristina

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

