Queue My Review

March 29, 2009

Pale Moon Stalker by Shirl Henke

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , — jjmachshev @ 5:24 pm

I never expected “Pale Moon Stalker” to be a western romance. Since westerns aren’t one of my favored genres, I left it towards the end of my TBR stack. Imagine my surprise when it was both a western AND a historical AND had a touch of the paranormal about it; yeah, kinda blew my mind. I even finished the book in one read and enjoyed it! Just goes to show, there’s always something new and different and it’s good to occasionally venture outside your normal reading habits.

Sky is a woman on a mission. She intends to kill the man who killed her husband, but she can’t do it herself. Her preacher husband knew her well and made her promise not to kill his murderer. Of course, Sky is also half Native American so she quickly finds a way to keep her promise…while still enacting her justice. She’ll find someone ELSE to kill FOR her. She selects none other than ‘the Limey’, as famous for his ability to hunt down outlaws as he is for his crisp British accent. But Sky never counted on developing feelings for this Limey, just as she never really counted on living past her justice.

Max is a bounty hunter extraordinaire. So how this native woman got the drop on him he’ll never know. She wants him to kill a man and it’s a man he wants to kill so there really shouldn’t be a problem. Except now Max must marry in order to maintain his inheritance in England and he doesn’t really have any prospects in mind. So he strikes a deal with Sky. They’ll marry, go to England, secure his inheritance, and return to kill Sky’s first husband’s murderer. But neither of them could guess just this ‘deal’ would change their lives.

As I said, westerns aren’t my cuppa tea, but this one did manage to maintain my interest and keep me reading til the end. The story crosses two continents, touches on a third, and has several ‘side stories’; yet they all manage to come together into one cohesive whole. Pretty tricky that. The lead characters were irritating at times, but not enough to make me stop reading. The feelings and reasoning behind their decisions and actions mostly made sense, and the heat level wasn’t bad either!

While I’m not going to become a fan of western romances (and I wish I could tell you why, but they just don’t feel ‘right’ to me), I’m also not sorry I read this engrossing story by Shirl Henke. For western romance fans, I’d suggest you check out not just “Pale Moon Stalker”, but Henke’s back list too. Her writing and story weaving is too good to pass up.

October 30, 2008

Review: The Accidental Demon Slayer by Angie Fox

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , , , , — kris012 @ 6:02 pm
The Accidental Demon Slayer by Angie Fox

I had my 30th birthday a few months ago, and sometimes it seems amazing that I survived it.  After all, it seems that 30th birthdays in books are always distressing for some reason or another.  Usually it’s some sort of emotional trauma, but in “The Accidental Demon Slayer” by Angie Fox it’s a whole level of traumatic.


Review: The Dragon Master by Allyson James

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , , , , — jjmachshev @ 3:43 pm
The Dragon Master by Allyson James

Now where can I get a dragon of my own? Especially one that turns into a mouth-watering specimen of masculine beauty? Ah well, I guess I’ll just have to settle for Allyson James’ dragon men and her latest book “The Dragon Master.”


Review: Seduced by the Storm by Sydney Croft

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , , , , , — heathershea @ 2:37 pm

Seduced by the Storm by Sydney Croft

If you love action, suspense, intrigue, mystery and hot erotic romance, than the latest in Sydney Croft’s ACRO series is definitely the book for you! Seduced by the Storm is the third book released in the series, and it is action packed with all of the above qualities. I also realized belatedly that Sydney Croft is also Larissa Ione, whose Demonica Series is also worth checking out! Now, on to the story…


October 26, 2008

Review: Killer Charms by Marianne Stillings

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , , , — kris012 @ 4:21 pm

Killer Charms by Marianne Stillings

Marianne Stillings’ “Killer Charms” is a combination of a paranormal romance and mystery.  It features Andie Darling, a San Francisco police detective who is desperate get a promotion into the Homicide division.  But to get the job she has to prove that Logan Sinclair’s claim of clairvoyance is simply his method of scamming vulnerable people.  However, in order to get the evidence she’ll need in court, Andie has to set herself up as bait for Logan.


October 20, 2008

Review: Goddess of the Sea by P.C. Cast

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , , , , — jjmachshev @ 3:43 pm
Goddess of the Sea by P.C. Cast

“Goddess of the Sea” is my first foray into P.C. Cast’s ‘Goddess Summoning’ series about normal women transformed by their willingness to believe in the spark of the Feminine Devine that makes all women magical! But the series is not about witchcraft and crones and spells and such, rather it celebrates the female viewpoint and the joys to be found in the care of tending of beauty in whatever form it’s found, whether it’s nature, art, or humanity.


October 16, 2008

Review: The Dragon Earl by Jade Lee

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , , , — jjmachshev @ 9:12 am
The Dragon Earl by Jade Lee

I’m not sure if Jade Lee meant the opening scene in her latest “The Dragon Earl” to be hysterically funny or if it’s just me. But as soon as I began picturing the scene in my head I couldn’t stop giggling. The lavish society wedding of a future Earl interrupted…by 3 Chinese monks in robes. The scandal! Can’t you just see the oh-so-proper upper class British nobility snobs? Too delicious.


October 15, 2008

Review: Countdown by Michelle Maddox

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , , , , , , , , — jjmachshev @ 12:15 pm
Countdown by Michelle Maddox

Did you go crazy for the Matrix with Keanu Reeves? Can you believe in a post-apocalyptic world of altered existence? Do reality shows thrill you? Then maybe you should sign up to be a viewer for Michelle Maddox’s new show depicted in her book “Countdown.” This story is a thrill a minute rocket ride of action and suspense with a bit of romance thrown in.


October 14, 2008

Review: Where There’s Fire by Maureen McKade

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , , , , , , — jjmachshev @ 3:07 am
Where There's Fire by Maureen McKade

Another tortured hero served up for our delectation! “Where There’s Fire” is my first contemporary romantic suspense by Maureen McKade. I didn’t realize that I had recently read one of her historical romance novels until I was typing this review and my fingers remembered the name. Then, of course, I had to check out why and bingo! Now, I find myself comparing her writing styles and realizing that there are many similarities. Not so strange, I guess, but still. A serial arsonist turned murderer, a twisted pimp, a drug-addicted ‘ho, and in the middle of it all one female cop and one mysterious man.


October 13, 2008

Review: Romeo, Romeo by Robin Kaye

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , , — heathershea @ 4:16 pm
Romeo, Romeo by Robin Kaye

Listen up ladies! This is a  book out of every woman’s fantasies. A man who cooks, cleans, takes care of you (and your dog), AND has lots of money! I know what your saying “Its too good to be true” right? Nope. It’s “Romeo, Romeo” by Robin Kaye. This is a little escape into just about every woman’s dream.


October 12, 2008

Review: Mercury’s War by Lora Leigh

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , , — heathershea @ 5:19 pm
Mercury's War by Lora Leigh

The drama! The suspense! The action! The romance! Oh boy, the romance! “Mercury’s War” by Lora Leigh had me straining my eyes to finish the story as quickly as I could. This is the 16th book in Lora Leigh’s “Breed Series” and in my humble opinion, her books are only getting better with time.


October 11, 2008

Review: Beware a Scot’s Revenge by Sabrina Jeffries

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , , , , — jjmachshev @ 11:10 am
Beware a Scot's Revenge by Sabrina Jeffries

My, my, my. Sexy highlanders in kilts! “Beware a Scot’s Revenge” is another winner in Sabrina Jeffries ‘School for Heiresses’ series. Ms Jeffries provides another enticing glimpse into the late Regency period in Scotland–with a braw and rowdy highland laird, a Scottish ‘princess’ who yearns to return to her beloved homeland, and a 16-year-old tragedy that almost derails true love!


October 10, 2008

Review: Dark Curse by Christine Feehan

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , , , — kris012 @ 4:08 pm
Dark Curse by Christine Feehan

Full confession time:  I have always been a big fan of Christine Feehan’s Carpathian series, so when I saw there was a chance to review “Dark Curse”, I shamelessly begged for the opportunity to read it.  I even squealed when I got it in the mail.  So why, after all that, did I then let the book sit neglected almost a month?  The simple answer is that with all the stuff going on in my life (work, school, family obligations, etc.), I wanted to be able to have some dedicated time to relax and savor the book.  To make a long story short, I had some pretty high expectations before I opened the first page.  And despite those lofty expectations, this book delivered on every single one of them. The story is a great installment in the Carpathian saga, and like all the Carpathian books, features an extra-hot, extra-alpha hero with a feisty and independent heroine.  With a combination like that, sparks are going to fly!


October 9, 2008

Review: It Happened One Night by Stephanie Laurens, Jacquie D’Alessandro, Mary Balogh, and Candice Hern

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , , , — jjmachshev @ 2:50 pm
It Happened One Night by Stephanie Laurens, Jacquie D’Alessandro, Mary Balogh, and Candice Hern

I defy any historical romance reader to pass up an anthology with a writer lineup of Stephanie Laurens, Mary Balogh, Jacquie D’Alessandro, and Candice Hern. I certainly couldn’t…and didn’t. When I asked Quentin to let me review this one, I figured I’d have to fight, bribe, or play dirty to get it. But apparently, my stars are in proper alignment or something because when I opened my latest box, there it was.


Review: Snowy Night with a Stranger by Jane Feather, Sabrina Jeffries, and Julia London

Filed under: Review — Tags: , , , , , , — jjmachshev @ 8:00 am
Snowy Night with a Stranger by Jane Feather, Sabrina Jeffries, and Julia London

Ah, the joys of Christmas! Spending meaningful time and making memories with the ones that mean the most to you. But not everyone gets this picture-perfect Christmas. In “Snowy Night with a Stranger,” all three historical stories are written about individuals who end up spending Christmas somewhere they never expected to be. But thanks to the magic of romance, our ‘strandees’ find their perfect love in unexpected places. I can only imagine what wonderful stories these characters would have to tell their grandkids!


Older Posts »

Blog at WordPress.com.